Mencari petunjuk menuju “tiang” Cassandra

Kemarin hari, saya sedang melihat tiang “tinggi” Cassandra. Hari ini saya mencoba mulai mencari petunjuk untuk mencari tahu bagaimana saya bisa memanjat “tiang” Cassandra setinggi mungkin. Mohon perhatian para pembaca, Cassandra atau nama lengkapnya Apache Cassandra ini bukan sebuah tiang lho, melainkan sebuah open source distributed database management system.

Seperti biasa, setiap kali saya ingin mengetahui lebih lanjut tentang teknologi yang baru saya kenal, maka saya akan mengunjungi terlebih dahulu situs resminya, dan berharap saya bisa memulai dengan relatif cepat untuk mempelajari teknologi tersebut. Sayangnya, saat pertama kali saya mengunjungi situs resminya, nampak dokumentasi yang mereka miliki kurang begitu baik. Tetapi, itu bukan menjadi halangan buat saya dan selanjutnya saya mencoba untuk memulai melalui Getting started yang sudah mereka sediakan. Setelah menyelesaikan tutorial Getting Started yang mereka sediakan, nampaknya saya masih kurang puas.

Setiap open source project biasanya mereka menyediakan channel IRC, jadi saya mampir ke channel #cassandra di jaringan irc.freenode.net untuk mencari petunjuk lebih banyak.

network irc.freenode.net, channel #cassandra

network irc.freenode.net, channel #cassandra

Kita langsung ke intinya, setelah sedikit basa-basi, saya mendapat petunjuk yang lebih baik. Dan berikut daftar petunjuk yang saya dapatkan:

[00:45] <ghanoz> I’ve been reading about Cassandra and fascinated by its capability

[00:46] <ghanoz> I planned to build an app and using Cassandra as datastore

[00:47] <ghanoz> Do you guys any lead a good start to using Cassandra from NodeJS?

[00:47] <EdwardCapriolo> There is a node client for c*

[00:48] <EdwardCapriolo> It uses node-+ jsthrift libraries -> cassandra

[00:48] <EdwardCapriolo> We are working on a native json trainsport for c* as well, but its still rough around the edges. https://github.com/zznate/intravert-ug

[00:48] <EdwardCapriolo> Good for hacking but maybe a month out from being fully usable

[00:49] <EdwardCapriolo> ghanoz: ^

[00:51] <ghanoz> Cool! Thanks Edward, I look over the project page now

[00:51] <ghanoz> Why you guys abbreviated Cassandra to C*? Any cool story about that?

[00:54] <EdwardCapriolo> Everyone is getting tired of typing the entire thing

[00:55] <mrvisser> ghanoz: We use helenus for Cassandra+NodejS: https://github.com/simplereach/helenus

[00:56] <EdwardCapriolo> ghanoz: Also look https://github.com/racker/node-cassandra-client https://github.com/simplereach/helenus

[01:01] <ghanoz> mrvisser: Thanks man, I forgot to use it, it was long time ago using irc😀 Which one you wil recommend? I just look node-cassandra-client is the most active one.

[01:03] <mrvisser> ghanoz: we tried both, helenus seemed to have a more stable pool

[01:06] <ghanoz> mrvisser: Oh okay, I will try both. Do you have any C* book recommendation for newcomer like me?

[01:09] <mrvisser> ghanoz: nah, I just used DataStax documentation, has really good data-modelling and administration guides

[01:10] <EdwardCapriolo> ghanoz: http://www.amazon.com/Cassandra-Performance-Cookbook-Edward-Capriolo/dp/1849515123

[01:10] <EdwardCapriolo> ds docs are pretty good, but I think they are a little short on the schema-modeling bits.

[01:14] <ghanoz> mrvisser: Seem a good start for me, thanks!

[01:15] <ghanoz> EdwardCapriolo: Cool, now I’m chat directly with the author🙂 I should put your book on my buy list

Semoga bermanfaat!

Leave a Reply

